Epic end to a scintillating season

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

Pro Wakeboarding Tour Stop III

The third and final stop of the 2013 South African Pro Wakeboarding and Wakeskating Tour was held last month to end the season on a high note.

The event took place at the Milnerton Aquatic Club, Rietvlei, Cape Town which left the riders with some challenging weather to compete in but also made the event so much more exciting for both spectators and competitors.

With the weather conditions being as miserable as they were, the event was still a resounding success as the SAWBA team worked hard to keep the spectators dry and fully entertained. There were large saddle tents provided and delightful hot meals and drinks were served all day.

Mother Nature seemed especially opposed to the pro division as they had to compete in roaring winds, bitter cold, and choppy water. However, being the best riders in SA, they pulled through and we watched as the men threw down some technical and well executed tricks. Shaun Faccio took the top position on the podium landing a Front Mobe along with a Pete Rose and a Moby Dick. On his tail was Dylan Mitchell who came second, throwing down a Whirly, Moby Dick and a Switch Melon 360. And rounding off the podium was Ryan Durham with a Batwing-to-blind as well as a Switch Crow Mobe.

The ladies division also saw some fierce competition as the two girls on top, Candice Bacon and Melissa Colborne, battled it out for top honours. In the end it was Melissa who triumphed with a hard run, Candice in second, and taking that well earned third place was Courtney Scholtz. The wakeskaters rode exceptionally well even in the challenging conditions they experienced. One cannot explain how difficult it is to fly through the air and keep that board on your feet without bindings – and still have to contend with the wind working against you. Bryan Loggerenberg gave one of his best performances yet and managed to secure the top podium position.

Close behind was Dale Nieuwstad in second and Mattie Buys took third. The Masters wakeboarding division was won by Jono Joseph who enjoyed an impeccable run. Second position went to Justin Selby and third to Darryn Ridgway.

The junior men laid down some outstanding runs. The division saw a new rider, Dean Trollip come in and rip it up. Dean almost didn’t make the finals, but he pulled through in LCQs and rode so well in the finals that he ended up winning the division. He didn’t have it easy, though, as he had Marius Labuschagne right behind him with a flawless run, taking second, and Travis Pienaar in third.

Wian Marais was also in top form and secured first place once again in the Open Men division. We then had Shaun Meredith in second and Chris Rogers finishing in third…


Write A Comment

Join our free mailing list